[Openstack-security] [Bug 1842930] Re: Deleted user still can delete volumes in Horizon
> Thank you for pointing the SESSION_TIMEOUT option. I was looking
through Horizon options to mitigate this problem and thought about using
For more detail, there are two options involved in horizon.
If SESSION_REFRESH is set to True (current default), a shorter SESSION_TIMEOUT would not matter for most cases.
> So is the default keystonemiddleware cache expiration time in such
deployment equals to 300 sec? Although I can look up token's expiration
time, issuing "openstack token issue" command.
The default value is defined here .
You can test the timeout of keystonemiddlware cache using curl.
 is an example in my devstack environment. L.39-49 retrieves a token before the user is deleted and tests it works. L.81 confirms the token is still valid just after the user is deleted. I confirmed the curl command failed with auth error a couple of minuites later (though the paste does not cover it). You can try the similar.
You received this bug notification because you are a member of OpenStack
Security SIG, which is subscribed to OpenStack.
Deleted user still can delete volumes in Horizon
Status in OpenStack Dashboard (Horizon):
Status in OpenStack Identity (keystone):
Status in OpenStack Security Advisory:
User session in a second browser is not terminated after deleting this user by admin from another browser. User is still able to manage some objects (delete volumes, for example) in a project after being deleted by admin.
==Steps to reproduce==
Install OpenStack following official docs for Stein.
Login as admin to (Horizon) in one browser.
Create a user with role 'member' and assign it to a project.
Open another browser and login as created user.
As admin user delete created user from "first" browser.
Switch to the "second" browser and try to browse through different sections in the dashboard as deleted user -> instances are not shown, but deleted user can list images, volumes, networks. Also this deleted user can delete a volume.
User session in current browser is closed after user is deleted in another browser.
I tried this in Newton release and it works as expected (for a short time before session is ended, this deleted user can't list object in instances,volumes).
rpm -qa | grep -i stein
CentOS Linux release 7.6.1810 (Core)
Â rpm -qa | grep -i horizon
rpm -qa | grep -i dashboard
To manage notifications about this bug go to: