|
Re: DNSBL: msg#00959user-groups.linux.kansascity
On Sat, 29 Nov 2003, Jonathan Hutchins wrote: > Duane Attaway, did you know your mailserver is blocking mailservers > listed as belonging to dynamic address blocks, such as DSL & Cable > servers? > > Does anybody find this effective at actually blocking spam? Yes, I found this annoying when TWC started doing it. It is the curse and downfall of the internet. But I'm lazy too, and started doing the same thing. About every few hours, I see this rule engaged in the sendmail logs from some city where I couldn't possibly know anyone. I get a spam about once a week. So, I'd say it works. I like it that way. So how do I deal with it since I run my own mail server on my "residential" IP? This line in /etc/mail/sendmail.mc does the trick: define(`SMART_HOST', `ms-smtp-01.rdc-kc.rr.com') I just looked at everyone's mail header from kc.rr.com and added a "smart host." When I send mail, it will try to send directly first. If sendmail gets denied, it will then try the slower, virus checking, sometimes not working mail relay server. Until people stop running spamware operating systems, I will continue to hide for my sanity. KC Linux Users Group -- to unsubscribe send mail to majordomo-3DadQFcgQnvYtjvyW6yDsg@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Enter without the quotes in body of message "unsubscribe kclug" |
|
| <Prev in Thread] | Current Thread | [Next in Thread> |
|---|---|---|
| Previous by Date: | New Patch Ads inches wtwcjt3i: 00959, Delbert Lugo |
|---|---|
| Next by Date: | FINANCIAL Independence Is Calling You...amy: 00959, Timmy Wilkes |
| Previous by Thread: | Re: DNSBLi: 00959, Bill Cavalieri |
| Next by Thread: | New Patch Ads inches wtwcjt3i: 00959, Delbert Lugo |
| Indexes: | [Date] [Thread] [Top] [All Lists] |
| News | FAQ | advertise |