|
Re: Legal threats from FTPPro: msg#00140security.nmap.devel
Man , What can I say :) These dudes are completely insane ! 2006/12/29, Fyodor <fyodor@xxxxxxxxxxxx>: > > Pardon the off-topic post, but I felt this should be recorded in the > archives. > > FTPPro sent me the appended email demanding that I remove a Bugtraq > posting from 2000 or "provide the contact information for [my] legal > department". Ironically, the message they demand I remove is a bogus > legal threat that they sent to someone else! They threatened an FTP > server admin with DMCA violation because they think one of his users > connected with an improperly registered version of their FTP client! > Apparently their FTP software secretly sent users' login information > (at least the username and server IP) back to FTPPro corporation. > > FTPPro does not dispute the factual accuracy of the original email. > Instead they say I should remove the email because it is > "un-American". > > Anyway, here is the message they are complaining about: > > http://seclists.org/bugtraq/2000/Jan/0419.html > > And here is the "response" they sent back then, demanding that Bugtraq > "immediately remove FTPPro from your Newsgroup/Mailing List > distribution": > > http://seclists.org/bugtraq/2000/Feb/0037.html > > And here is their new message to me: > > Date: Fri, 29 Dec 2006 10:49:17 -0800 > X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook IMO, Build 9.0.2416 (9.0.2910.0) > From: FTPPro <ds@xxxxxxxxxx> > To: fyodor@xxxxxxxxxxxx > Cc: hostmaster-seclists@xxxxxxxxxxxx > Subject: Please remove unauthorized content from seclists.org > > X-No-Archive: yes > > Please reply to confirm that you are the correct contact for seclists.org. > > I am sending this email to resolve an issue that occurred seven years ago, > pertaining to the following webpage: > http://seclists.org/bugtraq/2000/Jan/0419.html > > For the following reasons, please remove this webpage from your website: > > 1. The original email contained additional text which was not reproduced > on > your website, including the copyright notice that is also shown at the > bottom of this email, and the 'X-No-Archive: yes' header. > > 2. You will notice that the original copy of this email was submitted to > BugTraq by Cedric Armand, who runs "cedric.net". Search the search engines > for "Cedric Armand crack" or "cedric.net crack", and you will find that > the > person who submitted this email to your list on 1/28/2000 is a known > advocate of "Crack" websites which distribute illegal copies of software > over the internet. I'm sure you would not want your website to knowingly > support the actions of people like this. Please notice his quote "the US > and > all of this junk has no meaning whatsoever in 99% of the world", which > appears to be a rather un-American statement. > > I understand that you do not normally remove messages from your archive. > However, I'm sure you will agree that the facts concerning this situation > warrant an exception to that rule. > > If you are unable to remove this content from your archive, then please > provide the contact information for your legal department. > > Sincerely, > > Sabine Schmidt > FTPPro.com > > This email is protected by U.S copyright laws. It may not be copied or > reproduced in any form without the express written consent of the author. > _______________________________________________ Sent through the nmap-dev mailing list http://cgi.insecure.org/mailman/listinfo/nmap-dev Archived at http://SecLists.Org |
|
| <Prev in Thread] | Current Thread | [Next in Thread> |
|---|---|---|
| Previous by Date: | Legal threats from FTPPro: 00140, Fyodor |
|---|---|
| Next by Date: | Re: Legal threats from FTPPro: 00140, David Taylor |
| Previous by Thread: | Legal threats from FTPProi: 00140, Fyodor |
| Next by Thread: | Re: Legal threats from FTPPro: 00140, David Taylor |
| Indexes: | [Date] [Thread] [Top] [All Lists] |
| News | FAQ | advertise |