logo       

Re: SORBS blacklist: msg#00016

Subject: Re: SORBS blacklist
On 24-Jul-06 Simon Hobson wrote:
> Ted Harding wrote:
> 
>>The reason I'm asking is that it turns out that the static IP
>>given me by my ISP (Zen) is in a block blacklisted by SORBS.

Thanks to all who have responded (on- or off-list).

Further discusssion on the Zen support forum has thrown up
the following link to SORBS's policy regarding de-listing:

  http://www.nl.sorbs.net/faq/spamdb.shtml

One implication of this is that if someone's genuine IP address
has been forged in a mass spam (during the SMTP dialogue at the
EHLO stage, say), then SORBS would request a $50 "fine" for every
instance of spam sent from this forged address as a condition
for de-listing. The opinion expressed on the Zen forum was that
this amount to "extortion"; Zen say:

  "As a consequence we are now requesting whitelisting or
  dropping of SORBS to any organisations using SORBS as a
  means of filtering incoming e-mail. If you find anyone
  dropping your email due to sorbs then please try and get
  in touch with the recipient e-mail administrator to request
  they drop SORBS for blocking incoming email. If you want to
  then you can forward the bounce message to support@xxxxxxxxx
  with an appropriate note and we will also try contacting the
  administrators to request whitelisting or dropping of SORBS."

One question in my original posting was whether MC use SORBS
either directly, or indirectly (e.g. because the JANET RBL
blacklist -- which MC do use -- itself draws on SORBS). I didn't
get a reply to this one, so I'm asking again!

With thanks,
Ted.

--------------------------------------------------------------------
E-Mail: (Ted Harding) <Ted.Harding@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Fax-to-email: +44 (0)870 094 0861
Date: 26-Jul-06                                       Time: 10:52:31
------------------------------ XFMail ------------------------------



<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>