On 24-Jul-06 Simon Hobson wrote:
> [...]
> I note that 88.96.44.206 resolves to 88-96-44-206.dsl.zen.co.uk so
> the first thing you will need to do is get that changed to resolve to
> something fixed and which you own - unless you do that then SORBS
> isn't going to delist you.
Hi, Simon.
Many thanks for your comprehensive and detailed reply, and for
going to the trouble to dig into the SORBS web page for the info.
However, a lot of it is somewhat over my head! In particular,
the bit I quote above.
The issue that "88.96.44.206 resolves to 88-96-44-206.dsl.zen.co.uk"
is one which (in very similar terms) has been raised by a number
of people who have posted to the Zen support forum. One Zen reply
pointed to
http://www.zensupport.co.uk/knowledgebase/article.aspx?id=10166
which states:
Getting custom reverse DNS entries
In order to have custom rDNS set up you must e-mail details
of the records required to rdns.request@xxxxxxxxx
You should include your Zen username and you must be the
registered owner or administrator of the domain you will be
using with the rDNS entries.
For each of the rDNS entries you request there must be a
working, matching, forward record. The preferred format
for requests is as follows:
IP -> A-record
e.g.
1.2.3.4 -> mailhost.example.com
So I guess, combining that with what you said, Simon, I would
need to become "the registered owner or administrator of the
domain you will be using with the rDNS entries."
How the hell do I do that?
(And is that just for starters?)
For example, it looks as though it would need MX records,
i.e. where to route mail to if addressed to a host on that
domain. Normally my mail goes to nessie, via whatever happens
to be doing duty as mailrouter.mcc.ac.uk (which at the moment
seems to be gannet). However, a "dig -mx nessie.mcc.ac.uk"
seems to point directly to nessie herself!
So is it legitimate to nominate nessie as MX host for my
private domain?
Frankly, I think that when Zen (or other ISP) hands out a fixed
IP address,it ought to be trivial for them to register this as
such (and not a dynamic IP) with SORBS or other blacklist agency.
Sorry to be puzzled!
Best wishes,
Ted.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
E-Mail: (Ted Harding) <Ted.Harding@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Fax-to-email: +44 (0)870 094 0861
Date: 24-Jul-06 Time: 15:33:28
------------------------------ XFMail ------------------------------
|