logo       

SORBS blacklist: msg#00012

Subject: SORBS blacklist
Hi Folks,
I know that MC as part of the JANET network uses the
blacklist rbl-plus.mail-abuse.ja.net -- see

http://www.ja.net/services/network-services/mail/mail-abuse/
rbl-plus-guide.html

[all one line].

What I'm asking anyone sufficiently informed about is whether,
either on its own as MC or because reference to it is part
of (e.g.) rbl-plus, MC and/or other academic institutions
make use of the SORBS blacklist:

  http://www.nl.sorbs.net/

The reason I'm asking is that it turns out that the static IP
given me by my ISP (Zen) is in a block blacklisted by SORBS.

While Zen's mailservers themselves are not in the SORBS database,
when I send mail via Zen the SMTP dialogue unduces a header

Received: from [88.96.44.206] (helo=88.96.44.206) by
 heisenberg.zen.co.uk with esmtp (Exim 4.50) id 1G4xSE-0006ml-Lz
 for Ted.Harding@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx; Mon, 24 Jul 2006 10:14:26 +0000

so that my static IP as the originating IP address is there
for all to see, and could trigger a blockage because of the
SORBS listing.

Any informed comments or advice most welcome!

Best wishes,
Ted.

--------------------------------------------------------------------
E-Mail: (Ted Harding) <Ted.Harding@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Fax-to-email: +44 (0)870 094 0861
Date: 24-Jul-06                                       Time: 14:06:09
------------------------------ XFMail ------------------------------



<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>